Professors and project leaders

Jani Kotakoski

Jani Kotakoski has pioneered the research in atomic-scale structural manipulation of low-dimensional materials using electron and ion irradiation combining experimental materials physics, atomic-resolution transmission electron microscopy, and computational physics. His current research aims at creating atomically tailored structures embedded in solid state matrices to pave way for the second quantum revolution, and green energy production and storage.


Office 3208, 2nd floor | Phone: +43-1-4277-72844 | jani.kotakoski@univie.ac.at
Staff directory | Research portal
 

Thomas Waitz

Thomas Waitz is applying aberration corrected transmission electron microscopy for studies of functional nanomaterials. Using advanced in-situ methods, his research has a strong focus on the physical mechanisms of thermally, catalytically, and mechanically induced phase transformations of nanocrystalline shape memory alloys, carbon-based heterostructures, metallic glasses, and intermetallic compounds.


Office 3207, 2nd floor | Phone: +43-1-4277-72812 | thomas.waitz@univie.ac.at
Staff directory | Research portal

Toma Susi

Toma Susi has worked on materials synthesis and various kinds of spectroscopy, electron microscopy and modeling, primarily with graphene and other low-dimensional materials. His research interests increasingly center on understanding and making use of focused electron irradiation to characterize and manipulate covalently bound materials, and on simulating transmission electron microscopy from first principles.


Office 3215, 2nd floor | Phone: +43-1-4277-72855 | toma.susi@univie.ac.at
Staff directory | Research portal

Christian Rentenberger

Christian Rentenberger is working on the characterisation of nanostructured,
nanoscaled and bulk materials using state-of-the-art transmission electron
microscopy methods. His research interest focuses on the structure-property
relationship of crystalline and amorphous metastable phases induced or
modified by thermal, mechanical or irradiation treatments in metals, alloys
and metallic glasses.


Office 3213 | Phone: +43-1-4277-72814 | christian.rentenberger@univie.ac.at
Staff directory | Research portal

Kimmo Mustonen

Kimmo Mustonen is an expert in advanced electron microscopy and on nanomaterials synthesis using chemical vapor deposition and physical growth methods. His work focuses in particular on the study of the structure and properties of 2D layered materials and mixed-dimensional systems, and on in situ observations of phase transitions and chemical reactions in these systems.


Office 3222, 2nd floor | Phone: +43-4277-9801013 | kimmo.mustonen@univie.ac.at
Staff directory | Research portal

Senior scientists

Harriet Åhlgren

Office 3222, 2nd floor
Phone: +43-1-4277-9801013
harriet.ahlgren@univie.ac.at
Staff directory | Research portal

Arixin Bo

Office 3220, 2nd floor
Phone: +43-1-4277-72836
arixin.bo@univie.ac.at
Staff directory | Research portal

Jacob Madsen

Office 3209A, 2nd floor
Phone: +43-1-4277-72818
jacob.madsen@univie.ac.at
Staff directory | Research portal

Clemens Mangler

Office 3210, 2nd floor
Phone: +43-1-4277-72834
clemens.mangler@univie.ac.at
Staff directory | Research portal

Alexander Markevich

Office 3220, 2nd floor
Phone: +43-1-4277-72836
alexander.markevich@univie.ac.at
Staff directory | Research portal

Franz Sachslehner

Office 3331, 3nd floor
Phone: +43-1-4277-72805
franz.sachslehner@univie.ac.at
Staff directory | Research portal

Vladimir Zobac

Office 3210, 2nd floor
Phone: +43-1-4277-72834
vladimir.zobac@univie.ac.at
Staff directory | Research portal

PhD students

Thi Thuy An Bui

Office 3222, 2nd floor
Phone: +43-1-4277-72858
thuyan.bui@univie.ac.at
Staff directory | Research portal

Peter Cengeri

Office 3K41, basement
Phone: +43-1-4277-72846
peter.cengeri@univie.ac.at
Staff directory | Research portal

 

 

Alexandru Chirita

Office 3210, 2nd floor
Phone: +43-1-4277-72834
alexandru.chirita@univie.ac.at
Staff directory | Research portal

Wael Joudi

Office 3222, 2nd floor
Phone: +43-1-4277-72833
wael.joudi@univie.ac.at
Staff directory | Research portal

 

 

Manpreet Kaur

Office 3209A, 2nd floor
Phone: +43-1-4277-72818
manpreet.kaur@univie.ac.at
Staff directory | Research portal

Manuel Längle

Office 3222, 2nd floor
Phone: +43-1-4277-72833
manuel.laengle@univie.ac.at
Staff directory | Research portal

Stefan Noisternig

Office 3212, 2nd floor
Phone: +43-1-4277-72816
stefan.noisternig@univie.ac.at
Staff directory | Research portal

Ahmad Oweisi Fordoei

Office 3212, 2nd floor
Phone: +43-1-4277-72816

Diana Propst

Office 3220, 2nd floor
Phone: +43-1-4277-72838
diana.propst@univie.ac.at
Staff directory | Research portal

Carsten Speckmann

Office 3222, 2nd floor
Phone: +43-1-4277-72833
carsten.speckmann@univie.ac.at
Staff directory | Research portal

Undergraduate students

Somar Dibeh

Office 3220, 2nd floor
Phone: +43-1-4277-72836
somar.dibeh@univie.ac.at

 

 

Daniel Imrich

Office 3210, 2nd floor
Phone: +43-1-4277-72834
daniel.imrich@univie.ac.at

 

 

Clara Kofler

Office 3222, 2nd floor
Phone: +43-1-4277-72833
clara.kofler@univie.ac.at
Staff directory | Research portal

Fabian Kraft

Office 3220, 2nd floor
fabian.kraft@univie.ac.at
Staff directory | Research portal

David Lamprecht

Office 3222, 2nd floor
Phone: +43-1-4277-72833
david.lamprecht@univie.ac.at
Staff directory | Research portal

 

 

Barbara Mayer

Office 3220, 2nd floor Phone: +43-1-4277-72836
Staff directory | Research portal

Christian Pesenhofer

Office 3222, 2nd floor
Phone: +43-1-4277-72838
david.lamprecht@univie.ac.at
Research portal

Assistants

Helena Kempf

Organisational assistant
Office 3207, 2nd floor
Phone: +43-1-4277-72801
helena.kempf@univie.ac.at

Kathrin Linke

Organisational assistant
Office 3207, 2nd floor
Phone: +43-1-4277-72800
kathrin.linke(a)univie.ac.at

Andreas Berger

Technical assistant
Office 3211, 2nd floor
Phone: +43-1-4277-72815
andreas.berger@univie.ac.at

Claudia Wich

Organisational & laboratory assistant
Office 3219, 2nd floor
Phone: +43-1-4277-72823
claudia.wich@univie.ac.at

Emerita

Hans-Peter Karnthaler

Professor Emeritus
Office 3212, 2nd floor
Phone: +43-1-4277-72807
hans-peter.karnthaler@univie.ac.at
Staff directory | Research portal

Michael Zehetbauer

Professor Emeritus
Office 31117, 1st floor
Phone: +43-1-4277-72843
michael.zehetbauer@univie.ac.at
Staff directory | Research portal

External members

Name E-Mail
Bernhard Bayer-Skoff bernhard.bayer@univie.ac.at
Viera Skakalova viera.skakalova@univie.ac.at

Guests

Current
Name Affiliation
Jana Dzibelova Palacký University Olomouc
Thomas Walther The University of Sheffield